The Gospel According to Ginger

my daily account of getting closer to being who I want to be

Today is Monday.

I woke up this morning feeling a little strange. Girls, I know you’re with me when I talk about those days that you wake up and you know for certain you are on the verge of some serious PMS symptoms. You want to cry over every single thing you see or hear. You feel different. Your body feels different. It just generally kind of sucks. And it’s Monday. Great. Just that realization alone makes you want to bury yourself back under the covers and go back to sleep. Today was a little different. We were expecting some crazy temperatures and the possibility of some snow. The kids were already out of school so my only concern was whether my husband could roll over and go back to sleep with me. Unfortunately, the answer was no.

So I kissed him goodbye and saw him off to work in the freezing temperatures. I, being the lucky, warm one, snuggled back up under the covers after taking the dog outside with no result. I laid there for a minute about to say my morning prayer. Yeah, my morning prayer. I have just recently understood the importance of a morning prayer. I’ve read some books lately and I’ve noticed a recurring theme. You should start your day thanking God for all you have and ask for guidance in the day ahead. It actually works. I’ve tried to do it every day recently and it helps you start your day focused and thankful. As I was praying and talking to Him, I for some reason got the message or the ‘sign’, if you will, that I should start writing a blog. A blog about how I’ve tried to strengthen my relationship with God. I’ve been spiritual for a long time. I’ve felt close to God for a long time. But I’ve never really tried to cultivate that relationship. And as corny as it sounds, I felt like He was telling me that I could help someone (or hopefully more than one person) with this outlet. And possibly help me discover some things about myself.

This blog is about my journey to do just that. Cultivate and work on my relationship with The Lord and maybe help someone in the process. It won’t always be politically correct. It won’t always be factually correct. It won’t always be perfect. But it will be an account of my daily journey to help me be the best person I can be for myself and my family and the person that I know God wants me to be.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Today is Monday.

  1. Richard Meadows on said:

    All journeys start with a first step. I’m proud of you for taking that first step. I promise I will do everything I can to support you on your journey and hopefully you will let me tag along. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment